Ohio Dealer Frequent Questions
required to take the pre-license class to obtain an Ohio
Used Dealer License?
Automobile Dealer Training Association approved by the State
of Ohio to provide Ohio Used Dealer Pre-License Training?
have to take a test at the end of the class?
topics will we cover in the class?
are the classes held?
the price of tuition for the dealer training class?
have to take a class every year?
have to pre-register for class?
class cover Federal dealer laws?
Ethics so important in this business?
more questions, what do I do?
Am I required to take the pre-license class
to obtain an Ohio Used Dealer License?
state law requires all persons obtaining an Ohio Used
Dealer License are required to attend a 6 hour pre-license
training course. You must take the course no more than six
months before applying for your license.
Is the Automobile Dealer Training Association
approved by the State of Ohio to provide Used Dealer
Yes. The Automobile Dealer
Training Association is approved by the State of Ohio to
provide your Used Dealer Pre-License Training. At the end of
your class you will receive an official Certificate of
Completion that you will mail in with your dealer license
Do I have to take a test at the end of the
No test is required in the class, however Ohio law
requires you to sit through the entire 6 hour training in
order to receive a Certificate of Completion.
What topics will we cover in class?
We will start the class with an overview of the paperwork
that you will need to gather up and mail to Columbus in
order to obtain your license. We will complete a used dealer
license application to ensure you are completing it
correctly. You will learn how apply for an Ohio Vendors
License, you will learn how to easily collect & report sales
tax, how to apply for a resale title, and how to gain access
to the online dealer license system. Yes. The updated course
includes revisions to Ohio dealer laws and rules such as the
new Salesperson license rule that recently went into effect.
After the class you will be confident and ready to start &
operate your used Ohio dealership. View an overview of class
topics on our
Where are the classes held?
The classes are held throughout Ohio
in Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus, Toledo, Dayton, and
Akron-Canton. For a complete list of class locations and
dates please visit the
What is the price of tuition for the dealer
The tuition for one person is
$249 for one person and $199 for each additional person on
the same license. Signing up for the class is free. You can
pay your tuition with cash, check, or credit card at the end
of your class. Each person that attends the training will
receive a Certificate of Completion that you will mail in
with your application and will be kept on file in Columbus.
Do I have to take a class every year?
No. At this time Ohio has no continuing education
requirement for used dealers. You must, however, apply for
your dealer license within six months after you have taken
Do I have to pre-register for class?
No. Pre-registration is requested but not required.
Walk-ins are always welcome. If you do pre-register online
your Certificate of Completion will be pre-printed with your
information. If you sign up in advance and need to cancel
you will not be charged any fees.
Does the class cover Federal dealer laws?
Yes. Failure to follow strict Federal dealer guidelines
could lead to extensive non negotiable Federal fines of
$25,000 per occurrence or more. The class covers important
Federal dealer topics such as Federal Trade Commission
Buyers Guide rule, GLB Privacy Act, Federal lending
compliance, driver privacy protection, nationwide commercial
codes, US Patriot Act, FTC Red Flags Rule, and more.
Why are ethics so important
in this business?
Operating an Ohio dealership with ethics and integrity
will take you to the very top of the industry. You will
build your credibility your first few months in business. A
good, positive reputation will lead to more repeat business,
more referrals, and more profits. In your class we
will discuss the importance of operating your dealership
with the highest ethical standards.
I have more questions, what
should I do?
Call us at 800-369-2467, email
or complete our
form. We would love to help you obtain your Ohio Used
Good Luck in Obtaining Your Ohio Dealer License!
We are here to help you start your Ohio Used Motor
Delus Johnson-Lead Instructor